Why Practical Education!

Many times I’ve written about the importance of practical education, and this is the system adopted by almost all developed countries. One of the factors of professional excellence is the exposure to practical aspects of a particular field rather relying on the theoretical notes.

I do remember one of my Finance teacher’s say in this regard. He often used to mention that “an illiterate guy having spent some years in KSE is more knowledgeable than that of a finance student,a finance student when enters into the market after having degree is not that good at even How To Trade Stocks, while the guy in market excells even while knowing nothing about the theory.”

This doesn’t mean that theory or subjective information does nothing, but it’s incomplete without having a practical exposure. And here in Pakistan, this is the dilemma of industry that lack of practical knowledge slows down the productivity level on hand, and professional development on other.

I’m not sure what exactly can be the ultimate measure to control such situation, but individual effort can make a real difference, i.e. students if explore the opportunities within their capacity and do some volunteer work related to their field can give them a real boost.

4 Responses

  1. […] mrtrend wrote an interesting post today.Have a look for your self, Here’s an excerpt, read the full story at the blogOne of the factors of professional excellence is the exposure to practical aspects of a particular field rather relying on the theoretical notes. I do remember one of my Finance teacher’s say in this […] […]

  2. I am visiting your blog after a long time as I have been on vacation. Any how if I was checking this essay for Analytical writing, I would give you ZERO. Not a single para answers the question you asked in title. May be you would like to revisit this topic again. Just pointing out because you a[/we]re preparing for CSS so my comment could help you in re thinking.

  3. @OWK

    Thanks for having your say! I’ll try to have a rewrite on the issue, but I think my finance teacher’s example is enough for reference. Getting zero on the other hand, after a long long time is really different, :)!
    Anyways, thanks again!

  4. Qurratulain, your finance teacher example does not answer WHY, does it ? May be I am too paranoid.

    Any how I am sorry for being judgmental and giving you ZERO. There was no need for that comment from me. I apologize.

Leave a Reply

